Physics and Buddhism: 4 elements and rupa kalāpa

I am in the middle of writing a book called Physics and Buddhism. I have a bachelor’s degree in Physics from National University of Singapore.

I have some materials on this topic of 4 elements, but I find it hard to find parallels between rupa kalāpas in Buddhism claiming to be the smallest particle yet still have colour, smell etc.

Colour wise, wavelength of visible colour is actually bigger than atoms. So going at atomic size, we cannot see colours anymore.

Smell is molecules triggering the nose receptor.

Both atoms and molecules are certainly not the smallest thing there is.

So anyone got any ideas, solutions or metaphysical reason for not trying to understand rupa kalāpas in terms of current basic science?

Note that the knowledge of the wavelength of visible light and the nature of smell is unlikely ever to change due to any future paradigm shift in science.

2 Likes

Vanna (color) Gandha (odour), Rasa( taste) are present in each momentary kalapa, but one isolated kalapa doesn’t arise. They arise in groups, many.

2 Likes