If you are wanting Buddhism to be "Not X"?

I want to experience Buddhism with others but I can only find religious temples.

Jack__Wild
I am very new to Buddhism and I am interested in finding a teacher.

I don’t know where Buddhists gather and the only thing I can find are temples that appear as though they worship idols of The Buddha and I’m not down with that.

How do I find others who can offer guidance to grow through Buddhist teachings without diving into the religious aspect of it?

I should mention I’m based in NC, USA.

optimistically_eyed
It’s strange to consider oneself “very new to Buddhism” yet be immediately dismissive of anything about it.

You might reflect on the possibility that you don’t know enough about Buddhism in general, or the relevance of statues specifically, to have a well-informed position on what you’re down with yet.

Jack__Wild
To clarify, I mean the temples where there are statues of various reincarnations of Buddha. Where they view him as something other than human.

Jack__Wild
Okay, I’ll rephrase. I don’t want to worship different reincarnations of the Buddha. Rather, I would love to just learn his truths without worshipping a deity.

Calling it a religion doesn’t change anything, does it? There is still someone who can help me understand things like the noble truths and eightfold path without me having to bow to idols, yes?

monkey_sage
I have good news then: We don’t really worship the Buddha like a god. We pay great respect to him and we view him not just as a teacher but also as an example of what each of us has the potential to become. It’s quite a bit different from a theistic religion in which you put a god on a pedestal and try to gain their favor and avoid their wrath.

Bowing in Buddhism isn’t about worship, it’s about surrendering our self-grasping ego; we literally lay ourselves down in a practice of humility (which is an antidote to pride).