How I got started to learn Pāli

I’d like to share my experience in learning Pāli with the hope that it will motivate others to pick up this wonderful language.

Why learning Pāli? I started just wanting to understand the monks’ chanting and later realized the joy and deeper understanding of reading the suttas in its original form. Later I found out that the commentaries answer many questions that I had during my sutta reading. I also learned to put aside portions of the commentaries that are not helpful to me.

My journey: When I was a young engineer, I was fortunate to learn Buddhism and Vipassana meditation from the late venerable U Sīlānandabhivamsa in San Francisco. Not coming from a Theravada background Sayadaw had to undo many wrong ideas that I had about Buddhism. Sayadaw first taught us what one needs to know to be called a Well-Informed Buddhist and in this class sayadaw used many Pāli words. Sayadaw said “I know you don’t understand Pāli but I want you to be familiar with the terms and the sound so later on you could learn Pāli. Once you know Pāli you don’t even want to use terms in your own native language”. With 2 weeks of vacation time and raising a family of four children I had no time for Pāli and devoted mostly to the Vipassana practice. I made one attempt to learn Pāli later on but gave up after 6 months due to my lack of time to study/memorize the grammar. I made several attempts here and there but my engineering mind that keeps asking why (hence more grammar to learn with no time for it) prevented me to continue.