Has the Visuddhimagga been in use, and its techniques been practiced by Theravadins starting with its composition, continuously, until today?

I’ve seen some claims that ancient Theravada was nothing like today, and that what we have today has only been around for a couple centuries. My take is, unless the Visuddhimagga was not used for a very long time, and only started to be used in the past couple centuries, that sounds like nonsense, because the Visuddhimagga is 1500 years old, and still used today. Thus, unless it was strictly not used for a thousand years or so, there is a common thread, that is uniquely Theravada, tying ancient and modern Theravada together, which easily defeats such a claim. But I’m no expert, and can’t find any information on such a specific question. Can anyone clarify?

3 Likes

Visuddhimagga is a book compiled by Ven. Buddhaghosa Thera on the request by Mahavihara Theras at Sri Lanka. It is actually more like a resume submitted to Mahavihara.

2 Likes

I heard this claim by one monk. I will ask him why he says that and try to report back.

1 Like

Visuddhimagga was not used for a very long time, and only started to be used in the past couple centuries

Indeed, it was not used for a very long time. By the 18th century, Sri Lankan Sangha went into such a decline that Upasampada and meditation practice had to be imported from Ayutthaya:

Meditative practice also died out in Burma, and had to be reconstructed from textual sources:

So in the past couple centuries the Visuddhimagga became one of the key sources for the reconstruction of meditative practice.

2 Likes

@Assaji

Thanks! So, how long was it used for after Venerable Buddhaghosa wrote it around 500 AD before it declined?

I asked the monk. He mentioned that the terms Kālapa was new and referenced the Abhidhammatthasaṅghaha as being new and what he was talking about as “only a few hundred years old”.

2 Likes